After sustaining an injury while performing your job duties, there are some crucial steps you must take to ensure you can obtain workers’ compensation benefits. In California, you have a limited timeframe within which you must report your injury and file an official workers’ compensation claim. If you fail to meet the state’s deadlines, you might miss out on your chance to secure these crucial benefits.
Reporting Your Workplace Injury in California
As a general rule, you must give your employer a written notice of your injury within 30 days of the incident. Additionally, you must also file an official workers’ compensation claim. Ask your employer for the claim form and fill out your portion before returning it.
Of course, not all workplace injuries are sustained in one-time accidents. Some workplace injuries or illnesses develop over a span a time. If you developed an occupational illness or injury, there are special rules for assessing when the 30-day deadline begins. Reach out to a workers’ compensation attorney as soon as possible to ensure you do not miss the deadline for filing your claim.
Can I See My Own Doctor?
Generally, your employer’s insurance company will require you to see a doctor or healthcare within their established medical provider network. If you gave your employer a written notice that you wish to see your personal primary care physician for any workplace injuries or illnesses, you might be able to see the doctor of your choice. You must provide this written notice before sustaining an injury, however.
Understanding Your Workers’ Compensation Benefits
If your workers’ compensation claim is approved, you can receive a vast range of vital benefits, which can help ease your period of recovery.
Workers’ compensation benefits cover:
- A portion of your missed wages during the time you are unable to work
- The cost of any medical care related to treating your workplace injury
- If you cannot fully recover from your workplace injuries, workers’ compensation will also provide permanent disability benefits
If a workplace injury ultimately results in death, an employee’s surviving dependents might be eligible for death benefits.
Discuss Your Case with an Experienced Workers’ Compensation Attorney Today!
If you sustained a workplace injury or developed an occupational illness or disability, you must not hesitate to report it to your employer and file your claim, so you can obtain workers’ compensation benefits as soon as possible. At Leigh Law Firm, our experienced workers’ compensation team will guide you through the process of filing your claim and ensuring you secure these vital benefits. It is not uncommon for employers and insurance companies to deny these claims, which is why having aggressive legal representation on your side is crucial for the success of your claim.
Get started on the process of filing your workers’ compensation claim today and reach out to the knowledgeable team at Leigh Law Firm at (619) 473-7569 to set up a complimentary consultation with our trusted attorney. We also provide services in Spanish.